The 2014-2015 NHL season is now halfway over. Below is a list of Players, Coach, and GM who we argue would win some of the NHL’s most important awards based off of their performances during the first half of the season. We have not listed every award, only those that are voted for by the media, players, GMs, and coaches. Awards that are earned for leading in stats such as the Art Ross and Rocket Richard trophies are not included in our list of mid-season awards.

Jack Adams Award (Coach of the Year) – Peter Laviolette, Nashville Predators

No one expected Nashville to be on top of the standings at the beginning of the year, yet there they are. Nashville is playing a rejuvenated game under the leadership of Laviolette and he is most deserving of the award.

Calder Memorial Trophy (Rookie of the Year) – Filip Forsberg, Nashville Predators

Forsberg has been an absolute force for Nashville. He is leading the Preds in goals and points. Forsberg is also leading all rookies in scoring.

Hart Memorial Trophy (League MVP) – Ryan Getzlaf, Anaheim Ducks

Anaheim has played great hockey the first half of the season and no player has been more important to his team than Ryan Getzlaf. The Ducks are at the top of the Pacific Division and are poised to make a run at the President’s Trophy.

Ted Lindsay Award (Most Outstanding Player Voted by NHLPA) – Patrick Kane, Chicago Blackhawks

Sure there are a few players who have scored more points than Patrick Kane but the few that have are playing for teams that are not in the playoff hunt. Kane has averaged more than a point per game and really there is not a player more exciting to watch with the puck. No doubt the NHLPA would select him as the most outstanding player.

James Norris Memorial Trophy (Top Defenseman) – Shea Weber, Nashville Predators

It is amazing that Shea Weber has yet to win the Norris Trophy. Weber has been a finalist for the award multiple times and very well could be a 3-time winner. 2015 is his year, Weber has been a stalwart for Nashville, and is one of the main reasons they are on top of the league.

Frank J Selke Trophy (Best Defensive Forward) – Jonathan Toews, Chicago Blackhawks

It may come as a surprise, but the Chicago Blackhawks are the top defensive team in the league. Chicago also owns the top ranked penalty kill. Jonathan Toews’ defensive play as a forward is a big reason for Chicago’s defensive success.

Vezina Trophy (Top Goaltender) – Carey Price, Montreal Canadiens

Carey Price could easily win League MVP with his play. However, since it is very rare for a goalie to win MVP, Price certainly has earned the award for the league’s top goaltender. Price is in the top 3 goaltenders for save percentage, goals against average, and wins.

GM of the Year – Garth Snow, NY Islanders

Garth Snow was the butt of many jokes over the last few years and had many Islander fans calling for his job. That said, this is a new year and season for Garth Snow and his Islanders. As of mid-season the Islanders are near the top of the Eastern Conference and Snow deserves a lot of credit for putting together the right pieces for this roster. His bolstering of the goal tending and defense in the off-season has turned this team into a solid playoff contender.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *